Jaden’s Farewell Talk

Parkour is something I like to do in my free time, and I love it so much I have been a Parkour coach for the past couple of years. Parkour is moving from point A to point B in the fastest most efficient way possible. It teaches you to overcome obstacles. It teaches you to look at a situation, evaluate it, and choose the best route or method to take. If you fail something, you get up and try again until you get it. I see the gospel is like Parkour, Heavenly Father Has established the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints here on earth to help us navigate the best and most efficient route to him. In learning Parkour many of the more difficult moves take practicing over and over to do them smoothly and correctly. In life we each have our own obstacles our own successes and our own failures.  The greatest success that we can have comes by picking ourselves back up, applying the gift of the atonement in asking for forgiveness and trying again.

Dallin H. Oaks said,

“In mortality we have the certainty of death and the burden of sin. The atonement of Jesus Christ offsets these two certainties of mortal life. But apart from death and sin, we have many other challenges as we struggle through mortality. Because of that same atonement, our Savior can provide us the strength we need to overcome these mortal challenges.

Scouting is the activity arm in the church for young men. Many of my best memories from growing up are from campouts with the scouts, and I want to thank all of my leaders for all the time and effort that they put in for making these campouts happen. A special Thanks to Brother Snooks, and Brother Givens and the many, many, mechanics who seemed to be needed on every campout to fix his truck.

We were driving on our way home from Stanley after high adventure a few years ago, and a couple miles outside of Stanley, Brother Givens truck breaks down. So we all pulled off the road. The adults all got out to survey the situation. I was sitting in the back seat of Brother Givens truck with my arm out the window and another scout was sitting in the front seat and he decided to get out to see what was going on. When he came back he opened the front door, got in and slammed the door shut. I felt a strange feeling coming from my hand, I looked out the window to see that my middle finger was completely closed in the car door. I yanked my hand free, and that’s when the bleeding started. I got out of the car and went to find my dad who was working on Brother Givens truck. I said hey daddy, hey daddy…he said just one minute I’m busy, then I grabbed his arm and spun him around and showed him my problem. My dad immediately grabbed hold of me and took me over to our car and my dad and two of the scouts started doing first aid. The other scouts recognizing the severity of my injury formed a circle and said a prayer for me. I know that because of that prayer that I had no lasting effects from this accident when I should have.

Mormon 9:37

37 And may the Lord Jesus Christ grant that their prayers may be answered according to their faith; and may God the Father remember the covenant which he hath made with the house of Israel; and may he bless them forever, through faith on the name of Jesus Christ.

Bailey Smith and I were in charge of a fireside a few years back when we were on a camp out. We dug a big huge fire pit for the occasion. After we started the fireside, Bailey was talking about something and I was prompted multiple times throughout the devotional that I should do an object lesson that kept popping into my head. I just kept thinking not I don’t want to do that it will seem like I am showing off. So we come to close the fireside and I say to myself ok I will do it and I decide to do the object lesson. At this point I am going to pause this story and tell you kids don’t do this at home. I say everyone look at the fire, I say imagine that the fire is the world. If you go through the world without the gospel you are going to get burned, but if you have the gospel in your life when you go through this life you won’t get burned. At this point I walked barefoot through the fire. It wasn’t just coals it was flames up to my knees. As I walked through the fire I looked down to see the flames swirling around my legs and I was not getting burned. I could feel warmth but it was not hot. I know that this was possible because I listened to the prompting and the Holy Ghost was with me.

D&C 8:2-3

I will tell you in your mind and in your heart by the Holy Ghost which shall come upon you and which shall dwell in your heart.

Now behold this is the spirit of revelation behold this is the spirit by which Moses brought the children of Israel through the red sea on dry ground.

When I went to Japan it was a lot of fun hanging out with the elders, they helped me realize that a mission isn’t just working and teaching but you also get to have fun and be good friends with the members. While I was in Japan I gave a talk in Sacrament meeting, I blessed the sacrament, and we taught an English class and fed the homeless with the missionaries. From this trip and spending time with the missionaries, I realized that I wanted to be a missionary.

D&C 18:15

If you labor all your days and bring one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy.

Mission Life was really cool, it taught me how it would be to live life as a missionary.  It showed me that teaching people can be fun. My companion and I had both been ordained to the melchizedek priesthood a few days earlier and we were able to participate in giving our host family’s father a blessing. We didn’t know them at all, and didn’t know what they needed. When my companion Jake started giving the blessing it was exactly what they needed. This was a great testimony builder for me.

D&C Section 4

1 Now behold, a marvelous work is about to come forth among the children of men.

2 Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand blameless before God at the last day.

3 Therefore, if ye have desires to serve God ye are called to the work;

4 For behold the field is white already to harvest; and lo, he that thrusteth in his sickle with his might, the same layeth up in store that he perisheth not, but bringeth salvation to his soul;

5 And faith, hope, charity and love, with an eye single to the glory of God, qualify him for the work.

6 Remember faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, brotherly kindness, godliness, charity, humility, diligence.

7 Ask, and ye shall receive; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. Amen.

I am excited to serve the people of San Antonio, Texas. I know it is where I am supposed to go. I’m also excited for the food. I know the church is true and I can’t wait to share it with others. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a Reply

